Square Foot Gardening

Raised bed using the SFG method. Picture taken August 17, 2008.

Raised bed using the SFG method. Taken 8/17/08.

We are really excited about our new raised bed; planted with the Square Foot Gardening (SFG) method by Mel Bartholomew. We are so happy with our results, that we will be attending the SFG symposium in Utah, where we will learn more about SFG and become certified teachers. Our plan is to expand the farm’s services by offering classes on SFG. More info in the weeks to come! 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. I am reading “The Ominvore’s Dilemma” by Michael Pollan and have also started reading “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. These two books have been most informative, opening my eyes to a reality I knew in my heart existed; but of which I had never really understood. The revelations within those books have opened my heart to the local organic, sustainable farmers and their efforts to produce food that is actually healthy for their families and for the members of their community who choose to “climb on board”. I am now on a quest to learn as much as I can to live in a more healthy, responsible, environmentally-friendly manner while supporting local farmer’s markets; and, hopefully, even by finding and supporting a local source for grass-fed beef, lamb, chicken, turkey and eggs.
    I found you by typing in “CSA near Shingle Springs, CA”, which sent me to the “Organic Consumers Association” and from there I was able to “surf” my way to your blog.
    The reason for this note is to inform you that my husband and I would be interested in taking your class regarding SFG’s once you become certified teachers and offer your classes. Please email me your schedule once this becomes a reality.
    I would also like to learn more about CSA’s and their advantage over just shopping at the local Farmers’ Markets. If you could educate me on any of this, I would appreciate any and all information provided. Also, do you conduct tours of Zoey Farms for “newbies” like me? If so, we would be most interested.
    Thank you for whatever you can do to enlighten me.
    Tish Turrone
    tishturrone@sbcglobal.net

Comments are closed.

