Bunny!!!

MOST EXCITING THING THAT HAPPENING IN THE GARDEN THIS WEEK: The vole population seems to be growing, so we thought we should clear some dead grasses in the bog garden to make hiding harder on them. The particular area we wanted to clear would also allow us to walk on the other side of the beds and maybe discourage the voles from living so close. As we walked to the area to figure out which way to drive the tractor, we both saw something jump right before our eyes. Eric looks at me, wide-eyed, and says, “Was that a rabbit? A rabbit in our garden! We can’t have a rabbit in the garden. How do we get him out.” I say, “I’ll catch him!” Eric looks at me with disbelieving eyes and says, “How can you catch a rabbit?” I say, “I don’t know, head him off at the pass.” By this time, the rabbit, who is a baby, by the way, is in the squash plants, hiding under their huge leaves. I think, “How am I going to catch a rabbit?” And I think about how mom animals carry their young by the scruff of the neck, so I figure if I aim for that spot, I can catch him, without worrying about him biting me or hurting him. I reach into the maze of squash plants and quickly grab the bunny. And I caught him! He tried to wiggle away, but I grabbed him and pulled him close to my chest and covered him with both my hands. He immediately settled down. I surprised myself, I actually caught the rabbit! He was so cute, I wanted to keep him. Eric ran up to the house to get the camera and I sat still, holding the bunny and petting him.

Bunny

After the photo shoot, we told him we loved him and to hide from hawks and fox and to kindly stay out of the garden. We released him, on the other side of the fence and saw him disappear into the grass.

I wasn’t sure what kind of rabbit he was so I looked it up on the internet. I think he is a cottontail. And I learned some interesting facts about them. Go to http://www.webbedworks.com/messingerwoods/rabbitprofile.htm to learn more.

One response to this post.

  1. That is so precious. Lucky you! (And I hope he minds his manners and stays out of the garden. Good luck with that!)

    : D

Comments are closed.

